Internal Use of Essential Oils

Home Forums General Essential Oil Discussion Internal Use of Essential Oils

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Pyra Gorgon
    Participant

I see so many Internet sites and “experts” who always caution against ingesting essential oils.

Perhaps that is their legal disclaimers…

Pthbbt! I’m no lawyer and have no plans to pretend to be one. I use oils in place of modern pseudo-scientific Big Pharma toxic drugs. So, I take them internally!

Now, a word of caution: Some essential oils can be used “at will”, some need some serious dilution, and some need to be treated as “toxic/poison”. Even toxic poisons have medicinal usage in minute quantities.

I am assuming that you, the reader, know a thing or three about three different things:
    1. You know your body and your own tolerances/allergies/strengths;
    2. You know your oils and quality of them, and;
    3. You have common sense.

My method is easy since I have a very strong constitution and recovery: I go by “Rule of halves for drops”. Something that others on the Internet consider “toxic”, I will take one drop to 20 of a carrier. (oil, alcohol, syrup, etc.) I will experiment with this in the middle of the day. If nothing happens within 4 hours, I will then add another drop, thus making it 1:10 strength. No problems in 4 hours? Then I will half that. At some point, I am going to feel something, such as a bit of nausea, cramps, light-headedness, whatever. At that point, I now know my “limit”. (do this during middle of the day since that is when your metabolism and energy are at their strongest, and if something goes really wrong, it is easier to get help since everyone else is awake and moving about on their daily activities)

Many oils are very similar, so if you encounter your limit on an oil, consider that limit to be very close to others of similar category.